Documentation based guide: compiled from each provider's own docs on Oct 16, 2026. We have not load-tested these endpoints.
Most RPC providers list dozens of chains, but only some of them name the XRP Ledger. This guide covers six managed providers whose own pages name XRPL, plus the free public servers listed on xrpl.org. It is a summary of what each provider says about itself, not a ranking, and not financial advice.
What to look for
- Mainnet vs testnet. Some providers name only XRPL Mainnet. If you need a hosted Testnet or Devnet endpoint, check that it is named. XRPL's own public servers page lists free Testnet and Devnet servers either way.
- WebSocket support. XRPL's subscription methods run over WebSocket, so check that a WSS endpoint is offered on the plan you will use. For example, NOWNodes lists no WebSocket connection on its free Start plan (pricing).
- History depth. XRPL servers keep a limited window of recent ledgers unless they are full-history servers. Providers differ a lot here, from about two weeks (Ankr) to full history from genesis (QuickNode). If you query old transactions, this matters more than price.
- Free tier. Free options range from a one-month trial to a permanent free plan with daily or monthly limits. Units differ by provider (credits, request units, compute units, requests), so the numbers below are not directly comparable.
- XRPL vs XRPL EVM. Several providers also list the XRPL EVM Sidechain as a separate network. This guide is about the XRP Ledger itself.
Comparison
| Provider | XRPL networks named | Free option | Paid from | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| QuickNode | Mainnet, Testnet | 1-month free trial, 10M API credits | $49/mo Build ($34/mo billed annually) | Chains, pricing |
| Chainstack | Mainnet, Testnet | Free Developer plan, 3M request units/mo | $49/mo Growth | Networks, pricing |
| GetBlock | Mainnet | Free plan, 50K compute units/day | $49/mo Starter ($39/mo billed annually) | XRPL docs, plans |
| NOWNodes | Mainnet | Free Start plan, 100K requests/mo | Not stated | Nodes, pricing |
| Blockdaemon | Mainnet, Testnet | Free Plan with limited units (limits not stated) | Not stated | XRP RPC docs, quick start |
| Ankr | Mainnet, Testnet | Free public and Freemium tiers | Pay-as-you-go, $10 minimum deposit | XRPL launch post, service plans |
| XRPL public servers | Mainnet, Testnet, Devnet | Free (non-commercial) | Not applicable | xrpl.org |
Prices change often. Confirm on each provider's page before you buy.
Provider notes
QuickNode
QuickNode lists the XRP Ledger as a non-EVM L1 with Mainnet and Testnet, with its Core RPC API and Streams/Webhooks (chains page). Its XRPL docs list Archive as "Yes" for both networks, with Mainnet history starting from ledger 32570, and show a WSS field for each network (XRPL docs). There is no permanent free plan: the free trial lasts one month with 10M API credits and 15 requests per second, no card required. The cheapest paid plan is Build at $49/mo billed monthly or $34/mo billed annually, with 80M API credits and 50 requests per second (pricing). QuickNode is also the only managed provider named in the Commercial section of XRPL's public servers page.
Chainstack
Chainstack lists the XRP Ledger with Global Node and Dedicated deployments on Mainnet, plus Testnet, using what it calls Extended nodes (protocols and networks). Its XRPL tooling page describes JSON-RPC over HTTPS and the WebSocket API over WSS. It also says the node keeps between 750,000 and 1,500,000 recent ledgers (roughly 33 to 66 days), not full history, and points to a full-history server for older queries (XRPL tooling). The free Developer plan includes 3M request units a month, 25 requests per second, one node and WebSockets. Growth is $49/mo ($40/mo billed annually) with 20M request units. Chainstack lists archive data only on paid plans (pricing).
GetBlock
GetBlock names XRP Ledger Mainnet only, with no testnet, and supports JSON-RPC and WebSocket (XRPL docs). Its docs do not say whether shared XRPL nodes are full or archive. Its XRP node page says full historical data and archive lookups come through Dedicated Nodes (XRP nodes). The free plan gives 50,000 compute units per day, renewed daily with no rollover, at 20 requests per second. The cheapest shared plan is Starter at $49/mo ($39/mo billed annually) for 90M compute units (plans and limits, pricing). Dedicated nodes start at $1,000 a month for most protocols.
NOWNodes
NOWNodes lists XRP with a Mainnet entry only and a WSS endpoint (nodes). It does not mention archive access for XRP. The free Start plan includes 100,000 requests a month and one API key, but no WebSocket connection. Paid plans go from Pro (1M requests a month) up to Enterprise (100M), but the pricing page did not show monthly prices when we checked, so the paid starting price is not stated (pricing).
Blockdaemon
Blockdaemon is not yet listed on ScopeBots. Its docs name XRP Mainnet and Testnet and describe JSON-RPC 2.0 POST requests. That page does not mention WebSocket (access XRP RPC). New accounts are enrolled in a Free Plan with a free API key and "limited unit usage", but the docs do not give the limits. Paid prices are not stated in its docs, and its API pricing page routes to a sales form (quick start).
Ankr
Ankr is not yet listed on ScopeBots. Its August 2026 launch post names XRPL Mainnet and Testnet and a free public tier (Ankr blog). Its XRP API docs say its XRP Ledger nodes are full nodes, not archive. They keep about the last two weeks of history, so older ledgers and transactions are unavailable. Those docs describe JSON-RPC but do not mention WebSocket (XRP API docs). The free Public and Freemium tiers both list about 1,800 Node API requests per minute. Paid access is pay-as-you-go with a $10 minimum deposit, and a non-EVM HTTPS request costs 200 credits ($0.00002) (service plans).
When the free public servers are enough
XRPL's public servers page lists free JSON-RPC and WebSocket endpoints. They are a reasonable choice for:
- Learning and prototyping. Ripple, Honeycluster and XRPL Labs run free Testnet servers, and Ripple and Honeycluster also run Devnet servers.
- Occasional full-history lookups. Honeycluster (with Clio), xrplcluster.com and Ripple's s2.ripple.com are listed as full-history Mainnet servers.
- Browser apps in development. xrplcluster.com and the XRPL Labs testnet server are listed with CORS support.
They are not meant for production. The same page says Ripple's public servers are not for ongoing or commercial use and may go offline at any time. It recommends running your own server or hiring someone you trust to run one for regular use. It also warns that the xrpl.ws alias may be unsuitable for production. The page does not state rate limits.
Once you depend on uptime, a WebSocket subscription or a specific history window, use a managed provider or your own node, and check its history depth first.
How we checked
On Oct 16, 2026, we read each provider's own chain list, XRPL docs and pricing page, linked above. We counted a network only if the provider's own pages named it, and we wrote "not stated" where a provider's pages did not give a figure. We did not sign up, send requests or measure performance. ScopeBots listings for QuickNode, Chainstack, GetBlock and NOWNodes carry the same chain evidence with dates.